+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

  1. #1
    Advanced BHUZzer Safiyah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,049

    Anybody Else Get This Email?

    My troupe director forwarded us this email that she suspected to be a scam:

    Best Regards,
    We are the office responsible for arranging travel and vacations for some VIP Arab personals, we are also responsible for entertainment and event coordination. One of our main events is called, Royal Arabian Night, which is an exclusive party, with selected guests, this party will be host in an open green grass land with Arabic rugs, Arabic music, Middle Eastern food and our guests will be wearing the traditional Arabic cloths. We are looking for 5 ladies to perform live belly dance on the front of our guests. We would expect you to perform for a complete hour; our guests are very respectful, upscale and appreciate the art and talent you have, indeed, this party will be photographed and videotaped and we shall get you a copy of them.
    This party will be in many cities including Cleveland, Ohio. We want your services for the Cleveland event.
    If you cannot perform, can you please refer us to anyone you may know who are interested, please give us the cost you will charge us for this hour for the 5 dancers.
    Hope to hear from you soon.
    Thanks
    The email address was from royal.com I did some research and found who owns the domain (Gerald Gorman). Discovered he's some internet business guy but his name has been linked to several scams, like the lottery scam and a few others regarding domain name sales. It's unclear if it's really him doing this, but regardless I thought it best to respond very cautiously. She asked for a contact name and said she doesn't do any deals via email and needed a name & phone number, as there was no person name or company name in the original email. They sent back some form email that said her info was forwarded to the secretary of the Office of the Crown Prince:

    Thank you for contacting the office of the Crown Prince. Unfortunately we
    cannot provide you with a mailing address or a phone number, but your message
    is very important to us.

    Please be advised that your e-mail has been forwarded to our general secretary.
    We will respond to your message shortly and we will do our best to make sure the
    Crown Prince hears from you personally.

    Respectfully
    The Office of the Crown Prince

  2. #2
    Master BHUZzer beafarhana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    4,155

    Re: Anybody Else Get This Email?

    It looks like a scam, it sounds like a scam, it smells like a scam... I guess it's a scam!

  3. #3
    Advanced BHUZzer Rosette's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,650

    Re: Anybody Else Get This Email?

    It's interesting how this appears to be a message from someone who isn't quite fluent in English (you are invited to entertain "VIP Arabic personals" at a party which "will be host in an open green grass land") - and then in the middle we find: "We want your services for the Cleveland event." And at the end, the folksy and thoroughly American closing: "Hope to hear from you soon." It's a letter wandering in search of an identity!
    Now the Crown Prince is a nice touch. They forgot to mention which country he is crown prince of, what his name is, whether he was educated at Oxford, Princeton or Yale, and why he hired this embarrassing person to arrange his American intinerary.

    This is the best part though: "We are looking for 5 ladies to perform live belly dance on the front of our guests."..l;,
    Rosette

  4. #4
    I could get used to this! _Sarai_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    182

    Re: Anybody Else Get This Email?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rosette View Post
    This is the best part though: "We are looking for 5 ladies to perform live belly dance on the front of our guests."..l;,
    Rosette
    They might want to try club Erotica for *that* kind of live belly dance...

  5. #5
    Fotia
    Guest Fotia's Avatar

    Re: Anybody Else Get This Email?

    This screams scam. And I think they've got it confused with erotic dancers. We are exotic dancers, there is a big difference!

Similar Threads

  1. If you don't use/check email don't put it on your contact form
    By khadiya in forum Business of Belly Dance
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-26-2008, 10:00 PM
  2. more on email management, hiring someone?
    By jesennia in forum Business of Belly Dance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-06-2008, 07:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Belly Dance Central brings you Bellydance, bellydancing, belly dance costumes, belly dance events, belly dance forum, bellydancing events, bellydance travel, belly dance stars, belllydance swap meet, belly dance accessories, bellydance attire, belly dance workshops, bellydancing events, bellydancing workshops, belly dance seminars, bellydancing seminars, and bellydancing


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51