I just got a couple of strange emails from a "registration company in China". I am not going to go out and buy the 15 domain names that they say are in danger of being "grabbed" by some company in China, but curious to see if anyone else has received this and if they eventually leave you alone!
1st email:
Dear CEO,
We are the department of registration service in Asian area, we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on September 7th, 2010, One company which self-styled "REEC Trading Co., LTD." are applying to register "nylacrystal" as brand name and domain names as below :
nylacrystal.asia
nylacrystal.cn
nylacrystal.com.cn
nylacrystal.com.hk
nylacrystal.com.tw
nylacrystal.hk
nylacrystal.in
nylacrystal.net.cn
nylacrystal.org.cn
nylacrystal.tw
After our initial checking, we found the brand name and these domain names being applied are as same as your company’s, so we need to get the confirmation from your company. If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company, please DO NOT reply us, we will approve the application automatically.
If you have no any relationship with this company .please contact us within 7 workdays. If out of the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by " REEC Trading Co., LTD" unconditionally.
****I simply replied that I had no relationship with the "aforesaid" company.
2nd email:
Dear Mr. Nyla Crystal,
Thank you for your confirmation, If you have no relationship with the aforementioned company to register, so we suspect 2 points:
1. This company uses your brand to open up market.
2. This company may do the same business as you, or your competitors.
But you should know that, in China domain names registration is open, the applicant's application is legal, we can not reject their application, now you are the owner of trademark, you have the priority to register, because we can not stop any individual or entity to register any domain name, what we can do is informing you this. As China registrar, we must try to stop the domain grabbing.
Surely, if you think these domain names are not valuable, you need to email me to confirm that you will not follow this matter. Then we will finish aforesaid company's registration within 2 workdays. the company will become the legal owner of these domain names in the world.
Surely, this is only my suggestion, we will respect your decision. If you need to register, we will send the dispute application form and procedure to you at the first time.
Any questions, pls contact me in time, thank you for your cooperation.
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
-
09-09-2010 02:52 AM #1Advanced BHUZzer



- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Redwood City, CA, USA
- Posts
- 1,670
strange website domain email...scam?
09-09-2010 02:55 AM #2Advanced BHUZzer



- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Redwood City, CA, USA
- Posts
- 1,670
Re: strange website domain email...scam?
Does anyone detect some ulterior motive other than trying to get me to buy 10 domain names to "protect" my "brand"?
09-09-2010 07:02 AM #3Advanced BHUZzer



- Join Date
- Oct 2007
- Posts
- 1,060
Re: strange website domain email...scam?
That might be the next step, especially since GoDaddy will no longer accept registrations for chinese domains. Go Daddy to stop registering .cn domain names | Web | Macworld However, my thought is that with the proliferation of possible variations on any web name, I'm not that much interested in owning all the versions.
09-13-2010 10:24 PM #4Official BHUZzer

- Join Date
- Sep 2008
- Posts
- 542
Re: strange website domain email...scam?
Well, I do kinda wonder what it is they think YOU need to "register" with them...I don't know if this "registration" would simply cost you money, or if they'd mine your information either for scams or to sell...
09-14-2010 01:51 PM #5Advanced BHUZzer



- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Redwood City, CA, USA
- Posts
- 1,670
Re: strange website domain email...scam?
I didn't reply to the second message and the "2-day deadline" has passed with no further email. I was also wondering why they sent me the first email asking me permission to approve this other company and then in the second email say that it doesn't matter whether or not I give permission because China allows open registration....
I am going to chalk this up as a "whatever" and leave it be.
09-14-2010 11:54 PM #6Established BHUZzer


- Join Date
- Feb 2003
- Posts
- 678
Re: strange website domain email...scam?
It's some sort of scam. I've gotten similar emails. They were also from China, but instead of what was copied to the OP, they tried to say I was committing some kind of infringement, that my domain was their domain/business name, and I had only a couple of days to respond.
I didn't even read the whole thing. I just delete these kind of emails. I think the online scammers aren't just operating in Nigeria/West Africa. Similar scams seem to be coming out of China as well. I had to change my password for my personal Facebook account. I get a message for FB that someone was trying to hack into my account from China.
If it looks or sounds strange just delete it.Last edited by saheli; 09-14-2010 at 11:57 PM.
09-26-2010 09:06 PM #7Official BHUZzer

- Join Date
- Oct 2008
- Location
- Macon, Georgia
- Posts
- 445
Re: strange website domain email...scam?
Those are spam. I get those emails on my work account and they go straight to my spam folder.
I do know a company that was sued because their domain name was trademarked by another company. You won't get an email. You'll get an official notice from a lawyer.
Also watch out for notices via mail about needing to register your domain because it's about to expire. Those are scams, too. They want you to register your domain with them and send you mail that looks like an invoice.
09-27-2010 02:46 AM #8Advanced BHUZzer



- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Redwood City, CA, USA
- Posts
- 1,670
Re: strange website domain email...scam?
THanks for the heads up ladies!
Similar Threads
-
more on email management, hiring someone?
By jesennia in forum Business of Belly DanceReplies: 6Last Post: 08-06-2008, 07:06 PM -
Is this Faten Salama's official website?
By Bellydancefanatic in forum Belly Dance Instructor CenterReplies: 7Last Post: 01-27-2008, 08:11 PM
Upcoming Belly Dance Events- Jun 22:Workshop with Aziza Nawal & Chattanooga Raqs show
- Jun 22:Planet Egypt with Live Music June 2013
- Jun 22:Workshop with Yasmine!
- Jun 23:A Mid-Summer Dance
- Jun 28:5 day Master Workshop with Samara in New York City
- Jun 29:Karim Nagi, Omaris & Paula in DR
- Jun 29:Master Workshop with Samara in NYC
- Jun 30:Karim Nagi - Workshops
- Jun 30:Master Workshop with Samara in NYC
- Jun 30:Samara presents a Spectacular Evening
- Jul 01:Master Workshop with Samara in NYC
- Jul 02:Master Workshop with Samara in NYC
- Jul 07:Workshop with Vashti and Medea
- Jul 11:Khamsin Festival
- Jul 11:International Bellydance Competition
Hot Topics- Tan Gold/ Bronze costume - LOTS of fringe! $150
- Mermaids for Covenant Hospice
- Turqoise Silk 2-piece
- Moon Haven Studio, 30736
- Stunning silver-blue Eman Zaki with magic cups - SOLD
- Black costume - Brazilian design
- looking for classes/ teacher!
- Classes around chicago~~~
- Five Free Leggings
- Cristianno of Brazil Green costume
- Classes in & around San Juan Capistrano or Misson Viejo (California)?
- Black Cristtianno from Brazil Costume
- Hanan Saidi/Folk Dress
- Teacher Recommendations - in/around San Juan Capistrano, CA
- Spring Caravan 2013!!!
Statistics- Threads 43,764
- Posts 636,473
- Members 36,415
- Welcome to our newest member, scotthead25


LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks


Reply With Quote




Bookmarks