Go Back   BELLYDANCE CENTRAL - Everything Belly Dance! Welcome to BHUZ - Biggest Online BellyDance Community > Belly Dance Shopping > Product News and Reviews


Isn't this an Eman?

Product News and Reviews


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2007, 12:26 PM   #1
lizajuk
Ultimate BHUZzer
 
lizajuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,649
Isn't this an Eman?

Now my French ain't brilliant and I can't see it called such.
lovely photos and they look similar to Dahlal's advert but not the same.
It may be second hand but I can't see so..again abysmal knowledge of French.
The item looks far superior to anything else on the site IMHO.

NEW!!COSTUME PROFESSIONNEL DANSE ORIENTALE BELLY DANCE on eBay, also Robes de soirée, Mariage, Femmes Vêtements, Vêtements et Accessoires (end time 15-Dec-07 21:38:34 GMT)
__________________
Lizajuk-Kadife
lizajuk is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Old 11-25-2007, 12:35 PM   #2
tamrahennatx
Mega BHUZzer
 
tamrahennatx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2,410
The photos are lifted from Dahlal's site, with the exception of the closeups at the bottom.
__________________
tamrahennatx is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 12:40 PM   #3
nikkiraqs
Official BHUZzer
 
nikkiraqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 540
It does look like an Eman, but it looks doesn't look (to me anyhow) as good quality materials/fabric as the one on the Dahlal site, although I could be wrong.

It says it's new without tags.
__________________
http://www.raqs-sharqi.com
nikkiraqs is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 12:49 PM   #4
nikkiraqs
Official BHUZzer
 
nikkiraqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 540
Yep pic has definitely been pinched from Dahlal - see Dahlal Internationale
__________________
http://www.raqs-sharqi.com
nikkiraqs is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 12:57 PM   #5
lizajuk
Ultimate BHUZzer
 
lizajuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkiraqs View Post
Yep pic has definitely been pinched from Dahlal - see Dahlal Internationale
Well done Nikki, I had only looked on the "Eman" section" and the photos were only similar.
yes the close up different. Didn't we have an eBay shop like this before...had a designer full length shot then the close-ups looked suspiciously er...substandard?
Don't remember it being a French shop and most of the other costumes are from India>
__________________
Lizajuk-Kadife
lizajuk is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 01:03 PM   #6
naiyahayal
Mega BHUZzer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,887
That's outrageous! Definitely lifted from Dahlal's web site! Is there anything she can do?
__________________
"I dance; therefore, I am."
naiyahayal is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 03:04 PM   #7
SummerSahar
Advanced BHUZzer
 
SummerSahar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,110
Are you guys SURE this pic is lifted from Dahlal? I mean, are you SURE? It's so hard to tell when they blur the model's face out....you know?
__________________
Summer Sahar (www.firebellydance.com)
SummerSahar is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 03:33 PM   #8
nikkiraqs
Official BHUZzer
 
nikkiraqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 540
Oh yeah I'm sure! Here's the direct link to the image...they've carefully removed the dahlal logo, and scratched out the models face, but there's no doubt the photo is come from Dahlal! It's the exact same photo, which has just been photoshopped, if you look carefully you'll see the places where the Dahlal logo has been, those parts of the photo don't look quite right.

http://www.dahlal.com/images/product...C_front_lg.jpg

Dahlal call the costume Hollywood.
__________________
http://www.raqs-sharqi.com

Last edited by nikkiraqs; 11-25-2007 at 03:38 PM.
nikkiraqs is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 05:47 PM   #9
jasani
Advanced BHUZzer
 
jasani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1,361
I don't know Summer, I've seen that model in person and she looks that way in real life - she has that pale, rubbed out look to her face
jasani is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 08:49 PM   #10
Safiyah
Established BHUZzer
 
Safiyah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 616
Yeah of course the first few photos are stolen from Dahlal...I don't think the closeups are an actual Eman, though. It's a knockoff, imo, based on those few pics at the end. Not the worst knockoff I've seen though - I'd want to see more photos
Safiyah is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 04:09 AM   #11
lizajuk
Ultimate BHUZzer
 
lizajuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Safiyah View Post
Yeah of course the first few photos are stolen from Dahlal...I don't think the closeups are an actual Eman, though. It's a knockoff, imo, based on those few pics at the end. Not the worst knockoff I've seen though - I'd want to see more photos
There is nothing that wrong or new is following trends and copying high fashion but....

Surely being "not the worse knock-off" doesn't excuse lifting Dahlal's photo and using it to advertise what is a knock off!

I wouldn't trust anyone who didn't use their own photos. if this is the same site , they sure get around and both Dahlal and potential buyers need warning.
__________________
Lizajuk-Kadife
lizajuk is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 06:54 AM   #12
rakkasah_barbara
Established BHUZzer
 
rakkasah_barbara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 791
I also think it's a knockoff as I own this costume in red (mine is an original Eman) and the fabric and stones are way different than the on these close-ups..

B

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safiyah View Post
Yeah of course the first few photos are stolen from Dahlal...I don't think the closeups are an actual Eman, though. It's a knockoff, imo, based on those few pics at the end. Not the worst knockoff I've seen though - I'd want to see more photos
__________________
orientalprincesses.com
rakkasah_barbara is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 08:26 AM   #13
Safiyah
Established BHUZzer
 
Safiyah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 616
OMG I didn't mean it was OK to steal the photos! I just was commenting that it the quality (according to the limited pictures I saw) wasn't the worst. it's not a compliment :/
Safiyah is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 11:47 AM   #14
lizajuk
Ultimate BHUZzer
 
lizajuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,649
Emailed Dahlal and they got straight back saying they are contacting the vendor and eBay.
Safiyah...I didn't think you did but just thought it better to underline that I don't think copying is necessarily a bad thing...sometimes it's a compliment .
But I think this site is dangerous if they don't do a quality item as they are asking quite a lot for the costume and of course they are showing an original Eman and claiming it for their own.
__________________
Lizajuk-Kadife
lizajuk is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:44 PM   #15
SummerSahar
Advanced BHUZzer
 
SummerSahar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkiraqs View Post
Oh yeah I'm sure! Here's the direct link to the image...they've carefully removed the dahlal logo, and scratched out the models face, but there's no doubt the photo is come from Dahlal! It's the exact same photo, which has just been photoshopped, if you look carefully you'll see the places where the Dahlal logo has been, those parts of the photo don't look quite right.

http://www.dahlal.com/images/product...C_front_lg.jpg

Dahlal call the costume Hollywood.
LOL...Nikki....I was kidding :-) It's definitely Dahlal's pic!
__________________
Summer Sahar (www.firebellydance.com)
SummerSahar is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.usFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.0.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67