I used to check out Karolinka's site on a regular basis and bought a few things from her a couple years ago ....... lately, if I go to her web site, my anti-virus programs says "WARNING: HIGH RISK SITE" -- I'm really paranoid now about checking out new items ..... anyone else get this message? It looks like she has updated the site, but maybe not her protective software ..... hmmmm ... I don't want to take a chance on infecting my computer....
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread: Karolinka's site -- "high risk"?
-
06-21-2009 01:57 PM #1Ultimate BHUZzer






- Join Date
- Apr 2007
- Posts
- 7,852
Karolinka's site -- "high risk"?
06-21-2009 02:13 PM #2Master BHUZzer





- Join Date
- Jul 2007
- Posts
- 3,613
Re: Karolinka's site -- "high risk"?
just checked it out. didn't get any warning. my security / malware protection is fully armed. do you get this with any other previously trusted sites? updated your anti-virus lately?
06-21-2009 02:23 PM #3Ultimate BHUZzer






- Join Date
- Apr 2007
- Posts
- 7,852
Re: Karolinka's site -- "high risk"?
Hi, Sabrina, thanks for checking it out -- no, I don't get this with any other site I normally visit -- Bellydancestore, Dahlal, Bella, BellyDanceShoppe, all are fine. In fact, it's the ONLY site I get this with. Hasn't happened with new sites I've visited lately, either. And I just bought upgraded anti-virus ware which is much better than my old Norton ....... hmmmmmmmm, wonder why I'm getting this message .....
06-21-2009 07:08 PM #4I could get used to this!
- Join Date
- May 2008
- Posts
- 164
Re: Karolinka's site -- "high risk"?
McAfee says it's OK.
06-21-2009 08:11 PM #5Master BHUZzer





- Join Date
- Jul 2007
- Posts
- 3,613
Re: Karolinka's site -- "high risk"?
i bet its because she just added the facebook badge. perhaps it runs a harmless but unidentified-by-securityware script?
06-21-2009 09:02 PM #6Official BHUZzer

- Join Date
- Jan 2008
- Posts
- 528
Re: Karolinka's site -- "high risk"?
You should contact Karolinka and let her know that people are having trouble with her site. She should be made aware if her business starts to drop off because of this.
06-22-2009 07:14 PM #7Ultimate BHUZzer






- Join Date
- Apr 2007
- Posts
- 7,852
Re: Karolinka's site -- "high risk"?
07-17-2009 11:43 PM #8Just Starting!
- Join Date
- Sep 2002
- Posts
- 4
Re: Karolinka's site -- "high risk"?
salam, ladies! karolinka here (thanks to a tip by Lauren :) ).
MY SITE IS COMPLETELY SAFE!!
Here is what is most likely happening (it's what I suspected, and I spoke with my hosting service): my site is hosted by a very large (& well respected) company, 1and1.com. Due to their size, inevitably statistics say they are going to have a certain number of problems with people hijacking mail servers, putting malware on their sites, etc.
Many anti virus and anti malware software packages use at least as part of their system of identifying 'dangerous sites' what is called a black list: known danger zones that it will warn you of. Unfortunately these aren't always specific sites -- an entire subset of IP addresses can be blacklisted (this can be thousands of websites) because ONE website within that address was identified as dangerous in some way. It sucks. And as you can guess, this is a constantly changing situation. One way to keep on top of it is to make sure you have the latest anti virus/malware/adware software installed, and that you UPDATED REGULARLY. These days the rule of thumb for real safety is at least daily for your main virus software. If it is running off of an old blacklist, you are getting a warning about something that happened in the past and not being protected against what is happening currently.
I certainly have not installed any malicious software or code! 1and1.com (as well as my own rather paranoid anti virus/malware/adware/firewall set up) assures me the server (computer) my site is on is clean.
Really, if you use recommended anti-virus AND anti-malware/adware software AND a firewall (do not just buy a pc, plug it in to your cable/dsl modem, and hope Windows' security system is enough, because it's not!), and use them correctly, (as well as using your head :) ) you can really remain pretty safe out there -- but you do have to be vigilant in keeping everything updated and at least yearly review the software that's available!
By the way, as far as emailing me, you aren't "emailing the site". Emails to or from xxx@bellydancewithk.com have absolutely nothing to do with the computer that either of my domains (websites - bellydancewithk.com or bellydancewithkboutique.com) "lives" on, and "go" nowhere near them. Email is handled by an email server, completely different machine than the server that hosts the websites.
PLEASE feel free to email me if you have any concerns! info@bellydancewithk.com. Or call if you are really freaked out, 352-373-4991!!
Happy dancing!!!
Similar Threads
-
I will link to your site - for a song. :) BellydanceDownloads.com link exchange.
By kiyaana in forum Business of Belly DanceReplies: 32Last Post: 01-22-2010, 04:36 PM -
Web site hygiene, or protecting what's yours
By *Shira* in forum Business of Belly DanceReplies: 5Last Post: 10-24-2008, 09:35 PM -
Bhuz's new "My Belly Dance Auctions" site ROCKS!
By scarletslounge in forum Business of Belly DanceReplies: 3Last Post: 09-18-2008, 02:02 PM
Upcoming Belly Dance Events- Jun 20:Egypt 2013 with Leyla Zahar & Mohamed El Sayed
- Jun 20:Tribal Revolution
- Jun 20:Portland Mid East Camp - music, dance, sustainability
- Jun 22:Workshop with Aziza Nawal & Chattanooga Raqs show
- Jun 22:Planet Egypt with Live Music June 2013
- Jun 22:Workshop with Yasmine!
- Jun 28:5 day Master Workshop with Samara in New York City
- Jun 29:Karim Nagi, Omaris & Paula in DR
- Jun 29:Master Workshop with Samara in NYC
- Jun 30:Karim Nagi - Workshops
- Jun 30:Master Workshop with Samara in NYC
- Jun 30:Samara presents a Spectacular Evening
- Jul 01:Master Workshop with Samara in NYC
- Jul 02:Master Workshop with Samara in NYC
- Jul 11:Khamsin Festival
Hot Topics- Tan Gold/ Bronze costume - LOTS of fringe! $150
- MOHAMED SHAHIN DVDs
- Mermaids for Covenant Hospice
- Moon Haven Studio, 30736
- Stunning silver-blue Eman Zaki with magic cups - SOLD
- Pink 3 panel satin skirt
- Black costume - Brazilian design
- looking for classes/ teacher!
- Classes around chicago~~~
- Five Free Leggings
- Cristianno of Brazil Green costume
- Classes in & around San Juan Capistrano or Misson Viejo (California)?
- Black Cristtianno from Brazil Costume
- Hanan Saidi/Folk Dress
- SOLD t/y Silver/Black costume bra top 40/42/DD/DDD, $32 + $5 ship
Statistics- Threads 43,735
- Posts 636,284
- Members 36,398
- Welcome to our newest member, barbie


LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks


Reply With Quote




Bookmarks