+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 32
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??




  1. #1
    Official BHUZzer gabykings's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    291

    Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Hi everyone!

    Have any of you purchased from him before? Is he reputable? Please share your experience!

    Thank you!!!

    Gaby
    Cicley likes this.


  2. #2
    Official BHUZzer planetceanna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    387

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    we just ordered from them and are awaiting the costumes as we speak :) once we get them I will let you know! so far the transaction has been great though.
    gabykings likes this.


  3. #3
    Advanced BHUZzer Chayliana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Attica, MI, USA
    Posts
    1,784

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    I ordered an in-stock costume from him in December. It arrived 4 weeks to the day and is VERY nice! My only disappointment was that a chiffon skirt was supposed to be included along with the bedlah, 2 wrist cuffs & 2 ankle cuffs, but I didn't receive one. I contacted him & he seemed surprised the skirt was missing. He said he could send the skirt along with my "next order", but I really don't have any need (or funds) to order again any time soon. I haven't heard any more about receiving the skirt. Fortunately, I'm not in desperate need of it since I actually ordered the bedlah to go with two other skirts I already own. (I don't know what color skirt was intended to be shipped)
    "Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair" - Kahlil Gibran


  4. #4
    Official BHUZzer gabykings's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    291

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Thanks for the info!


  5. #5
    Established BHUZzer pghbelly1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    747

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    I just ordered one from him and it's very pretty- nice quality and exactly as pictured. I am quite happy with the purchase. He is not able to take paypal so you have to send payment via Western Union. I got my costume within a week just as promised. The chiffon skirt was a nice quality chiffon too- not cheaply made. I did pay an additional $10 for a double skirt and only received a single. He stated that he would send me a double the next time I ordered and I just placed my 2nd order. Will let you know if I get my double skirt!


  6. #6
    Ultimate BHUZzer meissoun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    I also ordered from him - I really like the old school look of his designs.
    The costume hasn't arrived yet, but so far communication has been very quick (through Facebook) and I am looking forward to see it. I had some extra wishes, so let's see how he handels them....

    MEISSOUN
    gabykings likes this.


  7. #7
    Just Starting! Arastya_Amar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    12

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    I just received a costume I ordered from him and though it is a very nice bedlah, and I am debating keeping it, it's not the one I ordered. Right size, wrong costume. I have heard that this is not horribly uncommon with him (I found that out after my order had shipped) And am currently trying to find out what my options are. However, his demeanor in the communications after I informed him of the error, have been gruff at best I'll let you know how hit goes.


  8. #8
    Official BHUZzer gabykings's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    291

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Thanks for your input. I actually ended up ordering a bra/belt set from him. I can say that for the $150 plus $10 for the Western Union fee, I feel like I got such a deal!!! The set is GORGEOUS --very nice quality. I do have to adjust the hooks... but don't we always? ;)

    I'm very happy with my purchase!
    Cicley likes this.


  9. #9
    Just Starting! Arastya_Amar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    12

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Glad to hear it- I ended up keeping the one that was sent to me but after dancing in it, I decided not to order another. I lost so many beads just moving hooks you can only imagine what happened when I danced in it.. Nice costume, but very much a 'you get what you pay for'.


  10. #10
    Established BHUZzer pghbelly1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    747

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    I ordered my 2nd costume from him on Feb. 20th. It was a special order of a design he already had but in a different color. He told me it would take 2 weeks and I sent him the Western Union. It is now almost 6 weeks and no costume. Communications with him on facebook have been timely and he always tells me that he will send me a picture of the costume and then ship the next day- never happens.

    Today I did get a picture and he said that he shipped. It was not the costume that I ordered. So- I have a show in 4 weeks that I ordered the costume for and there is nothing that I can do now except wear the one he is sending. I sent him a message and explained my disappointment that the costume is not as I ordered even though it is very pretty. I will let you know the quality of it once it arrives AND if he included my double skirt that was missing from my 1st order.
    Estela_bellydancer and Cicley like this.


  11. #11
    Just Starting! Cicley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Posts
    5
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??





    I spent 180 dollars to get a dress I want made for me and I haven't gotten it. I asked to have this dress made for me around tax return time so between January or February and it is now April. I haven't seen the dress. I have no tracking number. he told me that the dress is in town but that the postal services needed my phone number in order to give it to me. last time I checked that is not how our postal service works. I just need the tracking number. so I can
    get the dress. I am having the worse time trying to contact him through facebook and getting the tracking number
    he is not answering my E-mails or posts.... please ladies and dear friends be careful... very very careful.


  12. #12
    Just Starting! Cicley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Posts
    5
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Quote Originally Posted by gabykings View Post
    Thanks for your input. I actually ended up ordering a bra/belt set from him. I can say that for the $150 plus $10 for the Western Union fee, I feel like I got such a deal!!! The set is GORGEOUS --very nice quality. I do have to adjust the hooks... but don't we always? ;)

    I'm very happy with my purchase!





    I'm so happy that you got your costume :) it's always good when things work out for you. I only wish that they would work out for me. reading this gives me some hope. I am still waiting and looking out. I am a first time customer


  13. #13
    Just Starting! Arastya_Amar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    12

    Thumbs down Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    I have been trying to get an invoice for insurance purposes from him for months now, and have recieved. I know it's not very polite, but the quickest way I have been able to get him to respond is by posting my issue on his FB wall instead of a PM. He yanked my comment from his wall (couldn't have anyone seeing that he was less than perfect) and within 15 and PM'ed me.
    Proceed with caution, Ladies.


  14. #14
    Established BHUZzer pghbelly1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    747

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    No cossie yet.


  15. #15
    Ultimate BHUZzer meissoun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    He sent me a picture of the nearly-finished costume - which was good because I had to tell him that it was not the design I had ordered. He then offered to start again and do the right design.
    I have been on vacation, so I didn't ask again, will have to contact him.

    MEISSOUN


  16. #16
    Just Starting! Cicley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Posts
    5
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    I have already notified the BBB and got an appointment to talk to an attorney at Navy Legal later this april. it shouldn't have to come down to this. it's simple to just give a person a tracking number to track down their stuff and to deal honestly and generously with customers because we deserve that. I know his prices are reasonable and he is a very sweet guy, but so was Hitler if you aren't Jewish... (sorry, that was a little extreme :/) just upset that this is happening to some of us and myself. we should all call him out on his poorly operated business on Facebook and see what happens. I think if he sees more than one or two, he may do something about it. what do you all think? we need to all band together and post our complaints on his FB page... its the only way to get through to him..


  17. #17
    Just Starting! Cicley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Posts
    5
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    it is April 15th and I still have no costume or money. he said he would give me my money back and I still have not heard anything back from him...

    has anyone here tried to submit a complaint to facebook about him yet? for possible fraud or scammin'?


  18. #18
    Official BHUZzer gabykings's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    291

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Quote Originally Posted by Cicley View Post
    it is April 15th and I still have no costume or money. he said he would give me my money back and I still have not heard anything back from him...

    has anyone here tried to submit a complaint to facebook about him yet? for possible fraud or scammin'?
    Cicley -- I'm so sorry this happened to you! I guess I was lucky that the I received my set in a timely manner, correct size and model. After reading about your bad experiences I will not order from him again. I have to add that I haven't danced in this costume yet, so I don't know if the beads will start falling out just like it happened to Arastya Amar. I will keep you posted if it does.

    I had a similar experience but with Belly Dance Costumes and Accessories. Hip Scarf, Belly Dance Skirts and Special Size Costume Manufacturing. Plus Size, Children size and belly dance --they're in Turkey. I ordered a costume and didn't received in the time frame they had promised. They weren't responding to my emails and my fb posts were deleted. To make the story short I did finally receive my costume. Yes, it was beautiful and felt relieved that I had not been scammed. However I was extremely disappointed (and mad) when beads starting falling out as soon as I put it on!!! Poor quality in the making... be careful with them too!
    Last edited by gabykings; 04-17-2012 at 02:52 PM.
    Cicley likes this.


  19. #19
    Established BHUZzer pghbelly1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    747

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    I finally got my costume. (Read the posts above).

    It is not the costume I ordered. It is missing a skirt. He never shipped on the day that he said he was shipping and did not take action until I told him that I was going to file a formal complaint. I told him to refund my money and he shipped the next day with no regard to my request for a refund.

    The costumes are pretty but this was a real hassle- I doubt that I will order from him again. I sent him an email asking him to at least send me the skirt that I was supposed to get and to honor his word. We will see if that happens.


  20. #20
    Ultimate BHUZzer meissoun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Sent the money in the end of January.
    Ordered an existing model in different colors (a model that he already had in various colors).

    After a while of silence I asked about it. He sent a picture of a totally different model.

    He also offered me to send an existing costume that would be ready to ship. But all the costumes he sent me pictures of were totally different from what I wanted and some were rather ugly.

    More back and forth writing, always initiated from my side.

    I started to write on his Facebook wall. Always got comments from other people who had not received their costumes yet. He has blocked posts from friends on his wall now....

    Oh, and last week he told me that my oder was difficult, he couldn't do the colors. As if he hadn't known that in February! It's July now, dammit!

    He has a PayPal account now and I sent him an invoice to get my money back. Although I doubt he will send it....

    Bottom line: Those of you who received any costume from Amr Negm are lucky! If it was actually the costume you wanted, you are double lucky!
    But most of us will probably see neither a single sequin from him nor our money back!

    I will warn dancers wherever I can not to do business with him.

    MEISSOUN
    pghbelly1 and Cicley like this.
    *** Today is a good day to dance! ***
    MEISSOUN's world famous Istanbul shopping guide: http://meissoun.ch/e/istanbul-e.htm


  21. #21
    Ultimate BHUZzer meissoun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    I just wanted to check his Facebook page - he BLOCKED me! And un-friended me.
    There goes my money....
    Last edited by meissoun; 07-06-2012 at 01:08 AM.
    *** Today is a good day to dance! ***
    MEISSOUN's world famous Istanbul shopping guide: http://meissoun.ch/e/istanbul-e.htm


  22. #22
    Just Starting! Cicley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Posts
    5
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Quote Originally Posted by meissoun View Post
    I just wanted to check his Facebook page - he BLOCKED me! And un-friended me.
    There goes my money....
    Same here!! it's been six months and I have no money or dress from him.
    Last edited by Cicley; 07-06-2012 at 11:18 AM.


  23. #23
    Ultimate BHUZzer meissoun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    The more I look around, the more I find people who have had bad experiences.
    There are a few who received costumes - but really, it should be the norm, not the exception!

    There are enough other reliable and honest costume designers around (and I am the first to recommend somebody I have had a good experience with!), better avoid this one...

    I will keep on pestering him with e-mails. He might just delete them all, but at least it gives men the feeling that I am doing something about the whole affair...

    MEISSOUN
    Cicley likes this.
    *** Today is a good day to dance! ***
    MEISSOUN's world famous Istanbul shopping guide: http://meissoun.ch/e/istanbul-e.htm


  24. #24
    Official BHUZzer kitiera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bainbridge Island, WA, USA
    Posts
    304

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    I'm in the same troupe as CeAnna, and we did receive our costumes exactly as promised, and very timely, except that they were all very big. It worked out OK.

    One thing is, we sent half of the $$ as a deposit and the rest upon receipt of our order.

    I'm so sad to hear the bad experiences listed here. Much love to everyone.
    Cicley likes this.


  25. #25
    Just Starting! amr-dancecostumes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Quote Originally Posted by Cicley View Post





    I spent 180 dollars to get a dress I want made for me and I haven't gotten it. I asked to have this dress made for me around tax return time so between January or February and it is now April. I haven't seen the dress. I have no tracking number. he told me that the dress is in town but that the postal services needed my phone number in order to give it to me. last time I checked that is not how our postal service works. I just need the tracking number. so I can
    get the dress. I am having the worse time trying to contact him through facebook and getting the tracking number
    he is not answering my E-mails or posts.... please ladies and dear friends be careful... very very careful.
    hi cicley you still blocking me in fb how i can contact with you now ?? and your friend junary have take the 2 costumes and didnt pay me and blocked me to from fb she scam me i cant find here anywhere and your costume is already done but how can i find you ?


  26. #26
    Ultimate BHUZzer meissoun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Hey Amr - you blocked me on Facebook. So, what's the news? Are you going to pay me back to money? Or will I actually ever receive that costume?

    And by the way, you have my e-mail address and a pending invoice on PayPal for me, so don't tell me you don't know how to contact me!

    MEISSOUN
    *** Today is a good day to dance! ***
    MEISSOUN's world famous Istanbul shopping guide: http://meissoun.ch/e/istanbul-e.htm


  27. #27
    Ultimate BHUZzer meissoun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Just wanted to hear if anybody has had any luck with Amr recently.

    I continued contacting him from various mail addresses and finally got through in August.
    From then on it was the same old story: promises to do something soon that were not followed by actions.

    Finally he sent me pictures of existing costumes and told me he could send me one of them in a few days. So I chose one... in September. You can guess who still hasn't received anything.
    My e-mails in October were not answered.

    This guy is impossible, never order from him!

    MEISSOUN
    *** Today is a good day to dance! ***
    MEISSOUN's world famous Istanbul shopping guide: http://meissoun.ch/e/istanbul-e.htm


  28. #28
    Ultimate BHUZzer meissoun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Just curious: Is Amr still on Facebook, pretending to be a costume producer? Note that it's one year and 2 months since I paid and I never got anything. The last time he corresponded with me was in December, since then he never answered to an e-mail.
    Today I got a Twitter invitation from him. WTF? So he can block me there as well?

    Can anybody check if "Amr Bazar" is still active on Facebook? I can't access the page.

    Please people, spend your money elsewhere! This guy is just not worth being supported, he has cheated and stolen from too many dancers by now!

    MEISSOUN
    *** Today is a good day to dance! ***
    MEISSOUN's world famous Istanbul shopping guide: http://meissoun.ch/e/istanbul-e.htm


  29. #29
    Mega BHUZzer Nazarah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,032

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Meissoun, I think he's on facebook under Amr Bazar, now, and there is also a website.


  30. #30
    Official BHUZzer ecnyx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    200

    Re: Amr Negm (Amr Dance Costumes) on Facebook --reviews??

    Hi All,
    I'm sorry to hear about so many negative experiences.My experience with Amr Negm is 3.5 out of 5, 5 being the best. I bought two costumes in Nov 2012, details as follows:

    Purchasing experience:
    bra/belt set - it was custom ordered in the sense that I wanted a gold version of one of his other sets, took him 10 days to make it.
    Egyptian set - Saw it on website and had to have it.
    Purchased both via the website.

    Communication Experience
    All communication done on facebook. He was actually quite attentive and very responsive. Sent me pictures of the gold bra/belt once he was done.

    Payment and Shipping experience:
    Paid via paypal and western union. I sent the first payment via paypal, he sent the parcel, then I paid via Western Union because I "think" he meant he could not claim payment since the parcel was already sent (his English is not the best). I split the payment in two because I couldn't pay for the whole thing at once.
    Took about 20 days to get the costumes.

    Costume Quality:
    The quality of the costumes is above average for me.
    Gold bra/belt set: It's pretty sturdy and it has some serious chunky beads. Have worn it a hand full of times, and it fits great, no loose beading yet (I did take off the "long tassel beading" coming out of the bra cups).
    Egyptian Set: bra, skirt, sleeves and headband. The beading for the sleeves came apart while trying it on for the first time. Not a deal breaker for me though. I did have the skirt altered because the elastic he put on there was way too tight.He said my size was "in stock", but I think it was whatever size they made it in, because it was too long and the hip area did not fit right. In the end, the costume ended up fitting great and it's one of my favorites.

    Also, he did not include the chiffon skirt that he promised =(. He actually also asked me about sleeve options too! Oh well.... He was going to send it out in a separate shipment, but he never did.

    Lastly, I recommended Amr to my friend, who also purchased 2 costumes. Her experience was probably more average. The bra/belt she got was waaaay big and the Egyptian set did not quite fit her either and had to be altered. I know she loves that costume though.

    Anyway, I know this is a long review, but want to be thorough.

    Thanks for reading!

    -E
    Danceforlife likes this.


Similar Threads

  1. BELLYSU Costumes on Facebook
    By monsoondancer in forum Belly Dance Beauty & Costuming
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 06-20-2010, 06:25 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Statistics
  • Threads 41,353
  • Posts 595,922
  • Members 38,196
  • Welcome to our newest member, lilienhelene


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201